Skip to main content

Democracy in Westminster

Find out about our council, councillors, meetings, MPs and our GLA representative and view the Central Register of Councillors.

The council

Our council comprises 54 elected councillors, who are responsible for agreeing policies about the provision of services and how our money is spent. Our officers are responsible for the day-to-day management of the council and the implementation of policies.


Your councillor represents public interest and individuals living in the ward in which they have been elected. There are three councillors for each of the City’s 18 wards. They can help and advise on any concerns or problems relating to council services. For help with national issues, such as the National Health Service (NHS) or immigration, you should contact your local MP, details for whom are listed further down this page. 

You can contact your councillors via the Member Enquiries line number, which is listed on each individual councillor’s page, or directly via the email address on the same page.

If you wish to write to your councillor, you can do so via the main council address, Westminster City Hall, 64 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6QP. 

Some councillors also hold surgeries where you can speak to them face-to-face. You’ll find surgery details on the individual councillor pages. 

Council meetings

Details of council meetings.


Two parliamentary constituencies cover the City of Westminster: 

Westminster North: Karen Buck MP 

Cities of London and Westminster: Nickie Aiken MP 

The map below indicates the split across the whole of Westminster.

Greater London Authority (GLA)

The GLA was established in 2000 to represent the interests of Londoners and to direct the future of London, particularly on issues surrounding transport, policing, major planning, culture, fire and emergency services and economic planning. 

Tony Devenish is the London Assembly Member representing West Central, which includes the City of Westminster.  

Published: 15 December 2020

Last updated: 19 October 2023