World Heritage Site

The Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey, including St Margaret’s Church was inscribed as a cultural World Heritage Site in 1987. 

The inclusion of this group of buildings on the world heritage list makes them one of 981 sites worldwide considered to have ‘Outstanding Universal Value’ as part of the world’s cultural and natural heritage. The ‘Statement of Outstanding Universal Value’, sets out the qualities and characteristics of the site which make it internationally important.

World Heritage Site boundary map

The Westminster World Heritage Site Steering Group meets twice yearly and provides co-ordination between the landowners and stakeholders with an interest in the site. The terms of reference and minutes of the most recent meeting are below.

Terms of reference

February 2016 minutes


Information on the unique qualities, history and significance of the site can be found in the Westminster World Heritage Site Management Plan

The conservation area audit for Westminster Abbey and Parliament Square Conservation Area also contains information on the site and its context. 

Last updated: 23 June 2016
Rate this page: