Westminster City Council – Changes announced to Cabinet

Fri, 30/01/2015

Westminster City Council Leader Cllr Philippa Roe has today (Friday 30 January) announced changes to her Cabinet.

Following the decision by Cllr Ed Argar to step down from his Cabinet post, as a result of his selection as a Prospective Parliamentary Candidate, it has been announced that Cllr Richard Beddoe will replace him with immediate effect as Cabinet Member for City Management.

Cllr Philippa Roe said: “My sincere thanks go to Ed for his exceptional service as a member of the Cabinet, and I wish him all the very best as he moves forward with his political career - I know he will do well. I am delighted that Richard will be joining the Cabinet, he has already demonstrated great aptitude and dedication in a broad range of areas within the Council and I know he will bring those skills to bear in his new role. As we start 2015 I know the whole of my Cabinet is ready for the exciting opportunities we have ahead, and will be ready to meet any challenges.”

Cllr Beddoe has served as Deputy Cabinet Member for the Built Environment since 2014, as well as chairing a Planning Applications Sub-Committee. Prior to that, he held the positions of Deputy Cabinet Member for Housing and Corporate Property in 2013 and Deputy Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Community Protection between 2011 and 2012.

As part of this change, there have been some adjustments to the Cabinet portfolios. Cllr Robert Davis, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for the Built Environment, will now take on responsibility for public realm capital works whilst Cllr Nickie Aiken, Cabinet Member for Public Protection, will now be responsible for the Council’s Street and Premises Enforcement staff. Cllr Heather Acton, Cabinet Member for Sustainability and Parking, will now cover Road Safety functions.

Cllr Beddoe’s portfolio of City Management will cover street cleaning, street management (except for the Street and Premises Enforcement functions now being consolidated into a new Public Protection and Licensing team), roads and highway maintenance, street schemes, recycling, public toilets, transportation commissioning, transportation works budget, highway maintenance and capital projects, relations with TfL, transport, RTA duties, network management duty, relations with utility providers and transportation policy.

Also as part of this minor reshuffle, Cllr Tony Devenish will become Senior Planning Chairman.

Last updated: 10 August 2016
Rate this page: