Voting underway in the Westminster Youth Elections

Tue, 24/02/2015

Westminster’s 11 to 18 year olds have been heading to the polls and voting for their next Youth MP and Deputy Youth MP – their representatives who make sure the voices of young people are heard.

The Westminster Youth Elections will run for a month, closing at midnight on Sunday 15 March. The winners will be announced at a special event hosted by the Lord Mayor of Westminster on the evening of 23 March.

This year there are six candidates hoping to be named Youth MP and Deputy Youth MP. The candidates running are: Aby Murray, Enkuush Mergen, Marie-Verity Pernthaller, Mohammed Hammeda, Reema Begum-Miah and Semhar Teklu.

Read their manifestos, which include pledges on support to get young people into work and helping young people feel informed about the choices they make.

11-18-year-olds can vote online or in ballot boxes in schools. Voting closes at midnight on Sunday 15 March.

Keep up-to-date with election news by following @CityWestminster and join the conversation using #ThisIsOurYouth.

Read more information and vote.

Last updated: 10 August 2016
Rate this page: