School dates 2016 to 2017

Summer term

  Dates
Starts Monday 11 April 2016
Half term Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June 2016
Ends Wednesday 20 July 2016

Secondary school transition day (recommendation) for year 6 pupils starting in 2016 is 6 July 2016.

Terms lengths and attendance

  • 190 days (or 380 half sessions) for pupils
  • 195 days for teachers

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an inset day.

From the 2015-16 academic year onwards all schools have the autonomy to determine their own term dates. The School Admissions Team will continue to consult on and determine recommended dates, as outlined below, but schools are now able to vary these dates as they see fit. You are advised to contact your child’s school directly to confirm their term dates.

Autumn term

Dates  
Starts Monday 5 September 2016
Half term Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October 2016
Ends Wednesday 21 December 2016


Spring term

Dates  
Starts Tuesday 3 January 2017
Half term Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February 2017
Ends Friday 31 March 2017


Summer term

Dates  
Starts Tuesday 18 April 2017
Half term Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2017
Ends Friday 21 July 2017

Secondary school transition day for year 6 pupils (recommendations)

  • pupils starting in 2016: 6 July 2016
  • pupils starting in 2017: 5 July 2017

Terms lengths and attendance

  • 190 days (or 380 half sessions) for pupils
  • 195 days for teachers

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an inset day.

Public and bank holidays


Last updated: 8 July 2016
Rate this page: