School term and holiday dates 2015-16

Autumn term

  Dates
Starts Tuesday 1 September 2015
Half term Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2015
Ends Friday 18 December 2015

Spring term

  Dates
Starts Monday 4 January 2016
Half term Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2016
Ends Thursday 24 March 2016

Summer term

  Dates
Starts Monday 11 April 2016
Half term Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June 2016
Ends Wednesday 20 July 2016

Secondary school transition day for year 6 pupils (recommendations)

  • pupils starting in 2015: 1 July 2015
  • pupils starting in 2016: 6 July 2016

Terms lengths and attendance

  • 190 days (or 380 half sessions) for pupils
  • 195 days for teachers

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an inset day.

Public and bank holidays


Last updated: 19 August 2015
Rate this page: