New Cabinet Members appointed at Westminster City Council

Tue, 18/12/2018

Two new Cabinet Members have been appointed at Westminster City Council to strengthen its Cabinet team.

Leader Cllr Nickie Aiken confirmed the new appointments:

  • Cllr Iain Bott – as Cabinet Member for Sports, Culture and Communities taking over these responsibilities from Deputy Leader Cllr David Harvey who becomes Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Education and Skills.
  • Cllr Paul Swaddle OBE – as Cabinet Member for Customer Services and Digital taking over these responsibilities from Cllr Andrew Smith who becomes Cabinet Member for Housing Services.

These new appointments take the overall Cabinet to 10 members.

Leader of Westminster City Council, Cllr Nickie Aiken, said:

“Given the major projects we’re delivering for our residents and businesses over the coming years – for example bringing CityWest Homes back in-house and building stronger communities – I want to bolster the Cabinet team so we truly create a city for all.

“Councillors Bott and Swaddle bring with them a wealth of experience and skills, and will be great additions to the team.”

Cllr Bott represents the Marylebone High Street ward, having been elected in May 2013. He lives and works as a dentist in Marylebone.

Cllr Swaddle represents the Regent's Park ward, having been elected in May 2018. He lives in St John’s Wood and runs a software company in central London.

In addition, the following deputy Cabinet Members have also been appointed:

  • Cllr Jim Glen – Sports, Culture and Communities
  • Cllr Lorraine Dean – Family Services and Public Health
  • Cllr Emily Payne – Customer Services and Digital
  • Cllr Matthew Green – Place Shaping and Planning

As a result of Councillor Bott being appointed to the Cabinet, he will be replaced as Chairman of Planning Applications Sub-Committee 3 by Councillor Melvyn Caplan.

All new members will take up their positions from 1 January 2019.

Last updated: 19 December 2018