First ever architecture award chosen by the people

Wed, 01/03/2017

Voting has started in Westminster’s search for the city’s best building of the last decade.

Westminster is home to some of the country’s most famous buildings and landmarks. To recognise, celebrate and promote architectural excellence across the city, Westminster City Council has launched the first People’s Choice Award. The award has been launched as part of a broader campaign to engage the public in a debate about what makes a great building, recognising cutting edge, high quality designs from the past 10 years.

An expert panel comprising of a mix of experienced architects, developers, councillors and planners has shortlisted 12 designs and now those who live, work and visit the city can vote for their favourite modern building. The panel considered each building’s use of materials, its purpose and impact on the space around it when making the final selection.

The shortlist is made up of buildings which serve all parts of the community with housing, office, retail, education and gallery space all put forward for the public to vote on.

The award is being led by Cllr Robert Davis MBE DL, Deputy Leader of Westminster City Council, who said: "From sleek glass art galleries to outstanding housing developments, each of these building finds inventive solutions to unique architectural challenges.

"Brilliant architectural design should be recognised for all the fantastic benefits it can have in terms of health and wellbeing, sustainability, and the simple pleasure we all take from having such striking buildings lining our routes home, to shop and to work. The best people to ask about the impact these buildings have are those who see them day in, day out, and so I am delighted that we have been able to engage the public in a debate about what makes a great building and to promote design excellence."

"Each of these buildings is a modern classic that adds to the character of our city. Now you get to choose your favourite."

Vote in the People's Choice Awards

Last updated: 21 March 2018
Rate this page: