Democracy in Westminster

The council

Westminster City Council comprises 60 elected councillors, who are responsible for agreeing policies about provision of services and how our money is spent. Officers, employed by the council, are responsible for the day-to-day management of the council and the implementation of policies.


Your councillor represents public interest as well as individuals living in the ward in which they have been elected. There are three councillors for each of the City’s 20 wards.  They can provide help and advice on any concerns or problems relating to council services.  For help with national issues, such as the National Health Service or immigration, you should contact your local MP, details for whom are listed further down this page.

Your councillors are available via their member services officer on the telephone numbers listed on each individual councillor page, or directly via the email address on the same page.  If you wish to write to your councillor, you can do so via the main council address, Westminster City Hall, 64 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6QP.

Some councillors also hold surgeries where you can speak to them face to face. Details of these can be found on the individual councillor pages.


The City of Westminster is covered by two parliamentary constituencies:

Regent’s Park and Kensington North: Karen Buck MP

Cities of London and Westminster: Nickie Aiken MP

The City’s wards are split between the constituencies as follows:

Karen Buck’s constituency covers: Abbey Road; Bayswater; Church Street; Harrow Road; Lancaster Gate; Little Venice; Maida Vale; Queen's Park; Regent's Park and Westbourne.

Nickie Aiken's constituency covers: Bryanston and Dorset Square; Churchill; Hyde Park; Knightsbridge and Belgravia; Marylebone High Street; St James's; Tachbrook; Vincent Square; Warwick and West End.

Greater London Authority (GLA)

The GLA was established in 2000 to represent the interests of Londoners and to direct the future of London, particularly on issues surrounding transport, policing, major planning, culture, fire and emergency services and economic planning.

Tony Devenish is the London Assembly Member representing West Central, which includes the City of Westminster.

Last updated: 7 February 2020