Skip to main content

This is a new website - we welcome your feedback to help us improve it.

Voting in the May 2021 elections

Find out information about the London Mayoral and London Assembly elections.

Published: 15 January 2021

Last updated: 6 May 2021

The Mayor of London, London Assembly and the Churchill Ward by-election are taking place today (Thursday 6 May). There are three separate elections taking place, and whether you are voting by post, in person or by proxy, you will have three ballot papers to complete:

  • a pink paper for choosing who you want to represent you as the Mayor of London.
  • a yellow ballot paper for choosing who you want to represent Westminster on the London Assembly.
  • an orange ballot paper for choosing who you want to represent the whole of London on the London Assembly.
  • there is also a Westminster City Council by-election in Churchill ward.

Polling stations

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on 6 May. You don’t need your poll card or ID to vote.

Find your local  polling station

Polling stations will all adhere to strict COVID-safe guidelines.

Please remember to:

  • wear a face covering
  • use the hand sanitisers provided,
  • keep a safe distance from others  

If possible, you can bring your own pen or pencil with which to vote (regularly sanitised pencils will be available if you don’t have your own).

Notices of election

Notice of poll Mayoral PDF, 37.13 KB, 2 pages

Voting in these elections

To vote in these elections you must:

  • be registered to vote
  • be at least 18 years old on the day of the elections
  • be a British citizen, a European Union citizen or a Commonwealth citizen who has or does not require leave to remain in the UK

Remember, being registered with the council for services and paying council tax will not automatically include you on the electoral register.

British citizens living overseas can’t vote in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections.

Register to vote

Key dates

  • Monday 19 April 2021 - deadline to register to vote
  • 5pm on Tuesday 20 April 2021 - deadline for new postal vote applications and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes
  • 5pm on Tuesday 27 April 2021 - deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxy)

A proxy is a person who votes on behalf of another voter. The proxy must be eligible to vote at these elections.

Polling day takes place on Thursday 6 May 2021 from 7am to 10pm.

Useful information

Where do I vote?


You can also find this booklet in other languages.